a gut punch of perspective

 

Is your life fast? Something like this:

You go to bed around midnight after doing dishes, picking up the house, getting groceries, doing laundry, logging into work to answer emails, or meeting with someone that needs a listening ear. Then what happens to me is I intend to set my alarm to get up spend sometime reading / praying / gathering my thoughts… but I unnoticeably have fallen asleep (obviously I have over stayed my welcome in the conscious world)…

All of the sudden:

6:15am : wake up to kids crawling into bed

6:30am : kids fighting over toys

7:20am : marital spat with your husband/wife (not every day..)

7:25am : what to wear.. *sigh*

7:30am : shower

7:40am: make breakfast

7:50am : out the door to work OR start in on ‘stay at home’ parenting stuff.

8:00am : lash out at co-worker or family member..

8:01-8:59am : more of the same [chaos]..

So at this point we’re (I am) on edge – I didn’t get my time this morning, my own time, how I wanted it… grrrrrrr. GRRRRRRRR. ROOAARR!

9:00am : receive phone call / text / read a facebook status or blog of:

  • “… in a car accident, heading to the hospital more details to come..”
  • ” _[name]_  is sick with _______.”
  • “_[name]_ has passed away.”
  • “_[name]_ has been arrested for being a christian.”

Or maybe you pick up a book..
http://www.radicalthebook.com/home.html —  

Or hear a song:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t3EWHPp80EA&w=560&h=345

Or maybe you hear someone about else’s bad morning..

There have been multiple events this week that have put things into perspective for me.. What do we do with what comes next in life a “gut punch of perspective”, if you will? Do we worship the Creator?  

Romans 8:38-39

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,  neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Beloved, be encouraged today.

What ever you have faced, or are facing… God is taking notice. He cares…. So what about you? What has been a perspective gaining experience for you this week or last month?

 

7 thoughts on “a gut punch of perspective

  1. Man…both of my kids have but my life in Christ in perspective this week…and i wrote about it….wed. and today….it helps to let it out! LOL!

    Great Post Jason.

  2. I was running around like crazy a couple weeks ago, when I got a call that my boss had fallen 30 feet out of a tree while trimming branches. That gave me some perspective as to what was really important. All my plans for the evening went away and my wife and I rushed to the hospital to be with the family. He’s still recovering, but I definitely remember the reordering of my priorities in that moment.

  3. Seeing the disappointment in my wife’s eyes because I thought of myself instead of her at a crucial moment. In the end, she is my gift from God and though I realize often that I take things and her especially for granted, this time it kept me from sleep. I was bummed. It brought about a new list of priorities for me.

    • I can relate Floyd – I was just thinking along those lines the other day… I often don’t know I hurt her until she says something … I feel then that it is ‘too late’ she is way more gracious than what I deserve!

Chime in - Leave a comment...

